JWEMC Annual Meeting

JWEMC Annual Meeting


Trinity AL - Despite torrential downpours and the threat of severe weather, the Eighty-first Annual Meeting of Joe Wheeler EMC took place Saturday, April 14 with no delays. "I would like to thank everyone for braving the weather and coming out to make this another successful Annual Meeting," said JWEMC General Manager, George Kitchens.

The purpose of the JWEMC annual meeting is to update members on the business of their cooperative and to hold board member elections. The Board districts up for election this year were Districts 7, 8, 9, and At-Large. Members were allowed to vote in person at the Annual Meeting or had the opportunity to vote with mail ballots sent to each member in March.

The results of this year's elections are as follows:

In District 7, incumbent Charles Teague ran unopposed and received 3,006 votes.

In District 8, incumbent Ray Long ran unopposed and received 2,954 votes.

In District 9, incumbent Shirley Livingston ran against James Michael "Mike" Hill. Ms. Livingston received 2,124 votes versus Mr. Hill's 1,406 votes. With 60.17 percent of the vote, Shirley Livingston was re-elected to another three-year term.

In the District At-large, incumbent Milton Taylor ran unopposed and received 3,057 votes.

At the conclusion of the meeting, ten J.R. Knouff Scholarships for $2,000 were awarded. The scholarships went to: Isleta Ponter attending River City Christian Academy; Michael Walker attending Auburn University; April Campbell attending the University of Alabama; Addison Zanda attending Hartselle High School; Joshua Phillips attending UAB; Aaliyah King attending R.A. Hubbard High School; Ethan Heron attending Priceville High School; Lauryn Robinson attending Lawrence Co. High School; Raegen Hurst attending East Lawrence High School; Chole Jenkins attending East Lawrence High School. Scholarship winners will receive a package by mail with instructions.

Joe Wheeler EMC is an electric cooperative providing reliable electric service to more than 43,000 homes and businesses across Lawrence and Morgan Counties in Northwest Alabama for 81 years.